Toggle open

ISTE announces 2016 board of director election results

Press release blue
December 13, 2016

New board members will serve starting in January 2017

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Dec. 13, 2016 — The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) today announced the results of its 2016 election for board of directors. Newly elected to the ISTE board is Randy Hansen, Ed.D., professor, University of Maryland University College, Columbia; and re-elected for a second term is Janet Zanetis, managing director, Center for Interactive Learning and Collaboration, Louisville, Kentucky, who will continue to serve as board secretary. These board members were elected by vote of ISTE membership.

In addition, newly appointed board member Gary Brantley, chief information officer, DeKalb County School District, Stone Mountain, Georgia, will join the board for a three-year term, and the board appointed S. Dallas Dance, Ph.D., superintendent, Baltimore County Public Schools, Towson, Maryland, to a third one-year term. All new terms begin in January 2017.

In the new year, Mila Thomas Fuller, Ed.D., assistant director of online learning, College of Education, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, becomes ISTE president, and Kecia Ray, Ed.D., executive director, Center for Digital Education, Smyrna, Tennessee, becomes past president.

"We welcome Randy and Gary to the ISTE board and are excited to have Janet and Dallas continue to serve. ISTE membership will benefit from the diverse experiences and insights they have to offer," said Fuller. "On behalf of the entire board, I would like to thank Kari Stubbs and John Keller, both of whom are completing second terms as at-large representatives, for their service on the board. Each brought a unique perspective and made outstanding contributions to the organization."

Continuing board members are Bill Bass, innovation coordinator, Parkway School District, St. Louis; Laurie Conzemius, technology trainer, Park Rapids Area Schools, Park Rapids, Minnesota; Hall Davidson, senior director, Global Learning Initiatives, Discovery Education, Los Angeles; Paige Johnson, K12 Cloud Strategist, Amazon Web Services, Portland, Oregon; Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach, CEO, Powerful Learning Practice, Virginia Beach, Virginia; and Karen Swift, head of department, business and technologies, James Nash State High School, Gympie, Queensland, Australia.

For more information about the ISTE Board of Directors, visit

About ISTE
The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) is the premier nonprofit membership organization serving educators and education leaders committed to empowering connected learners in a connected world. ISTE serves more than 100,000 education stakeholders throughout the world.

Innovative offerings include the widely adopted ISTE Standards for learning, teaching and leading in the digital age-as well as the ISTE Conference & Expo-the world's most comprehensive ed tech event. The organization's robust suite of professional learning resources feature online courses, consulting services for schools and districts, books, and peer-reviewed journals and publications. For more information, visit Connect with ISTE via Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.