Toggle open

ASCD+ISTE Board of Directors Announce New President-Elect

Press release blue
March 26, 2024

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) and International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) announced the appointment of Dr. Jeremy S. Owoh, as the incoming President-Elect.

ASCD+ISTE President-Elect Dr. Jeremy S. Owoh

Dr. Owoh expressed excitement about the new role stating, “I am grateful for the opportunity and honored to have been elected by my fellow Board of Directors for this role. I look forward to collaborating with this talented group of leaders to drive innovation in education and foster the growth of ASCD+ISTE as we join forces to transform education.”

Dr. Jeremy S. Owoh has had a distinguished career in education. He began as an English teacher at Parkview Magnet High School in the Little Rock School District in 2003. Since then, he has held various leadership positions, including dean of students, middle school assistant principal, and middle school principal in the Pulaski County Special School District.

In 2011, Dr. Owoh became principal at J.A. Fair Systems Magnet High School before transitioning to roles such as assistant superintendent of curriculum/instruction and desegregation at Jacksonville North Pulaski School District and Assistant Commissioner of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure at the Arkansas Department of Education. He has also served as superintendent of schools for the Pine Bluff School District and Deputy Superintendent for the Little Rock School District.

Currently, Dr. Owoh serves as the Superintendent of Schools for the Jacksonville North Pulaski School District. Alongside his administrative roles, he serves as an adjunct instructor at Southern Arkansas University and the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

He holds a Bachelor of English Education with a concentration in Secondary Education from the University of Central Arkansas in Conway, AR., a Master of Secondary Education with concentrations in Reading and Writing, an Educational Specialist degree in Educational Administration, and a Doctorate of Education in Educational Administration and Supervision from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

Dr. Owoh will serve as President-Elect for 2024 and will step into his role as President beginning in January of 2025. His vast experience and proven track record of leadership in education will bring a profound understanding and commitment to ASCD+ISTE’s key initiatives in helping educators use technology to revolutionize learning.

About ASCD

ASCD is where educators come to learn about new instructional strategies, grow as individuals and thrive as professionals. We are the preeminent global leader of professional learning resources for all classroom teachers, instructional leaders, principals, and superintendents. For over 80 years, educators and instructional leaders have used ASCD’s educator-generated, evidence-based resources, digital tools, and solutions to build teaching and learning environments to elevate education and boost student achievement.

About ISTE

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) is a nonprofit organization that works with the global education community to accelerate innovation in education through the smart use of technology. ISTE sets a bold vision for education transformation through the ISTE Standards, a framework for rethinking education and creating innovative learning experiences. ISTE hosts ISTELive, one of the world’s most influential education events, and offers a wealth of professional learning opportunities focused on technology in education. For more information or to become an ISTE member, visit