Toggle open

EPPs for Digital Equity and Transformation

Unprecedented disruption has transformed the education landscape, creating urgency to build teacher skills that support student success in digital environments. This once-in-a-generation moment can empower us to create lasting changes in how we prepare new teachers.

ISTE, in partnership with the U.S. Department of Education and with support from the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE), the Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (AAQEP), the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education (SITE) and the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), is working to support educator preparation programs (EPPs) in order to meet this need through the ISTE Standards. A framework for effective teaching and learning with technology, the standards are recognized by all 50 states and U.S. territories.

  • Logo
  • Logo

EPPs Digital Equity and Transformation Pledge

Signing the pledge signals that an EPP shares this vision to expand and scale digital equity and transformation in learning.

  1. Prepare teachers to thrive in digital learning environments.
    We will prepare future teachers to use technology to provide equitable learning opportunities that support student success in all classrooms. This includes experience teaching in online or hybrid settings.

  2. Prepare teachers to use technology to pursue ongoing professional learning.
    We will prepare future teachers to use technology for collaborative learning and professional growth. This includes participating in online communities of practice relevant to their teaching goals and aspirations.

  3. Prepare teachers to apply frameworks to accelerate transformative digital learning.
    We will prepare future teachers to create effective digital learning experiences using nationally recognized educational technology standards. This includes aligning coursework and clinical experiences to those frameworks.

  4. Equip all faculty to continuously improve expertise in technology for learning.
    We will support all EPP faculty in modeling effective use of technology for instruction to build confidence and competence in future educators. This includes building capacity through faculty professional learning.

  5. Collaborate with school leaders to identify shared digital teaching competencies.
    We will partner with schools to establish a shared understanding of the teacher competencies required for effective, equitable use of technology for learning. This includes modeling exemplary approaches to technology use that are relevant to the vision, culture and infrastructure of partner schools.

Research Study: Transforming Teacher Education

Download this free report—with case studies and strategies—on how educator prep programs can better prepare teachers for tech-enhanced learning.

Join 100+ Higher Education Institutions in the Digital Equity and Transformation Network

By signing the pledge, you’ll join the Digital Equity and Transformation Network. As a member of the network, you’ll be invited to a biannual facilitated roundtable of leaders and faculty champions convened by ISTE. Members collaborate to build the capacity of their faculty, update their curriculum to accelerate digital learning and ensure candidates have practical experience in using technology effectively for teaching.

Institutions in the Digital Equity and Transformation Network

American InterContinental University

Appalachian State University

Aquinas College

Arizona State University

Arkansas Tech University

Austin Peay State University

Avila University

Ball State University

Barton College

Boston University

California State University, Dominguez Hills

California State University, Northridge

Cambridge College

Carson-Newman University

Clark Atlanta University

Clemson University

Cleveland State University

College of St. Scholastica

CUNY Brooklyn College

CUNY Hunter College

CUNY Lehman College

Eastern Michigan University

Fairfield University

Gannon University

George Fox University

Georgia State University

Howard University

Indiana State University

Indiana University Bloomington

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Johns Hopkins University

Kennesaw State University

LeTourneau University

Lewis University

Lindenwood University

Lipscomb University

Mars Hill University

Marymount University

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Miami University

Millersville University

Mississippi Valley University

Missouri Southern State University

Molloy University

Montclair State University

Moreland University

Mount St. Joseph University

National University

Nicholls State University

North Carolina State University

Northeastern State University

Northern Arizona University

Northern Michigan University

Oklahoma Christian University

Old Dominion University

Pfeiffer University

Purdue University

Reach University

Russell Sage College

Saginaw Valley State University

Sam Houston State University

Santa Clara University

Southeast Missouri State University

Southern Methodist University

St. Francis College

St. John Fisher University

St. John’s University

Stephen F. Austin State University

SUNY New Paltz

Tecnológico de Monterrey

Tennessee Technological University

Texas A&M University-San Antonio

Texas Women’s University

The Texas Institute For Teacher Education

The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Tougaloo College

University of Central Arkansas

University of Central Missouri

University of Charleston

University of Georgia

University of Maryland

University of Maryland Global Campus

University of Michigan - Dearborn

University of Missouri - St. Louis

University of South Carolina Beaufort

University of South Florida

University of Southern California

University of Southern Indiana

University of Southern Queensland

University of Texas at Dallas

University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

University of Wyoming

Utah Valley University

Valdosta State University

Webster University

Western Governors University

Western New Mexico University

Wichita State University

William Paterson University

Wilmington University